Posted: 2 November, 2016 by Triple M NRL

Parramatta Eels Announce 2017 Squad Including FOUR NEW SIGNINGS

Brad Arthur Photo: Getty Images

The Eels have announced four new signings for the 2017 season.

Kirisome Auva’a, Will Smith, Jamal Fogarty and Marata Niukore will join the Eels for 2017. Full statement below.

Kirisome Auva'a Photo: Getty Images

The new additions for 2017 include:

Kirisome Auva’a – A Samoan international who was part of South Sydney’s premiership winning team in 2014. Kirisome has undertaken an intensive support program as part of his return to the rugby league in consultation with the NRL and Rugby League Players Association (RLPA).

Will Smith – Was named in the NSW Cup team of the year in 2014 and has gone on to play 21 NRL games for Penrith over the last two years.

Jamal Fogarty – A former Australian Schoolboys representative who played for QLD Cup champions Burleigh Bears in 2016.

Marata Niukore – A former junior Kiwi who was part of the NZ Warriors Holden Cup side.

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 05:  Will Smith of the Panthers is tackled during the round one NRL match between the Canberra Raiders and the Penrith Panthers at GIO Stadium on March 5, 2016 in Canberra, Australia.  (Photo by Stefan Postles/Getty Images)

Will Smith Photo: Getty Images

Eels coach Brad Arthur said that the club’s recruitment and retention for 2017 will build on what they did last year as well as provided important depth. 

“I am pleased with the squad we have assembled and I expect that we will be able to continue to progress forward as a group in 2017,” Arthur said.

“We have a good mix of experienced and developing players who offer the team the opportunity to improve on last year. However what’s important now is our attitude and commitment towards our preparation for the 2017 season.” 

The majority of the NRL squad has returned this week to begin the 2017 pre-season with the remaining members resuming from next week.

Players who are returning in 2017 or have been elevated from junior programs include: -

· Jeff Robson – re-signed for 1 year

· Alex Twal - re-signed for 1 year

· Jack Morris – re-signed for 2 years

· Bureta Faraimo – re-signed for 1 year

· Cameron King – re-signed for 1 year

· Cody Nelson – re-signed for 1 year

· Honeti Tuha – re-signed for 1 year

· James Hasson – re-signed for 1 year

· Kelepi Tanginoa – re-signed for 1 year

· Matt Woods - re-signed for 1 year

· Scott Schulte - re-signed for 1 year

· Vai Toutai – re-signed 1 year

Bevan French Photo: Getty Images

Over the past two months the Club has re-signed Bevan French, Corey Norman, Danny Wicks, Kenny Edwards, Isaac De Gois, Rory O’Brien, Brad Takairangi and Manu Ma’u on multi-year deals.

This follows the announcements of Nathan Brown, George Jennings, Siosaia Vave and Josh Hoffman as new signings for the Eels in 2017. 

To Read Next