toggle menu
Live: 2GO 107.7 Central Coast
Listen live

Two Crows Players Just Won The Best & Fairest and Rising Star Awards

At the inaugural AFLW Awards

Two Crows Players Just Won The Best & Fairest and Rising Star Awards

This is EPIC!

Tonight, Crows premiership midfielder Ebony Marinoff won the first-ever AFL Women’s Rising Star and Erin Phillips has completed a sweep of the major awards, winning the AFL Women’s Best and Fairest.


Marinoff won the award with 47 votes to edge out Brisbane Lions key-position player Sabrina Frederick-Traub (41 votes).

The 19-year-old was nominated in Round One following a near-best on ground performance in the Club’s history-making win over Greater Western Sydney.

Phillips polled votes in six of Adelaide’s seven home and away games to finish at the top of the leaderboard with 14 votes, four ahead of Melbourne midfielder Karen Paxman and Western Bulldogs livewire Ellie Blackburn (10 votes).

Phillips polled the maximum six votes in the opening two rounds to take an early lead and was never headed.

The AFL Women’s Best and Fairest is the star Crow’s fifth significant honour in as many days.

On Saturday, she claimed a premiership medal and was named best on ground in Adelaide’s Grand Final win over the Brisbane Lions.

Phillips was then recognised by her peers with the AFLW Players’ Most Valuable Player on Monday, and finished second in the Best Captain voting.

The Crows have provided nearly a quarter of the first-ever AFL Women’s All-Australian team.

All five Crows included in the preliminary squad of 40 – co-captains Erin Phillips and Chelsea Randall, young midfielder Ebony Marinoff, forward Sarah Perkins and versatile veteran Courtney Cramey – were selected in the best 22 at the AFLW Awards.

The All-Australian Team is:

B: Nicola Stevens (Coll), Courtney Cramey (Adel)

HB: Chelsea Randall (Adel), Brianna Davey (Carl), Karen Paxman (Melb)

C: Elise O'Dea (Melb), Daisy Pearce (Melb), Emma Kearney (WB)

HF: Erin Phillips (Adel), Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Bris), Ellie Blackburn (WB)

F:Darcy Vescio (Carl), Sarah Perkins (Adel)

RUCK: Emma King (Coll), Kara Donnellan (Freo), Emily Bates (Bris)

INTERCHANGE: Jess Dal Pos (GWS), Kate McCarthy (Bris), Ebony Marinoff (Adel), Tayla Harris (Bris), Mel Hickey (Melb), Sam Virgo (Bris)


Congrats to them both and the whole Adelaide Football Club Women's Team! 


- AFC & Triple M